## Prepared By: www.BankExamsToday.com



## List of Finance Ministers of India

| Name of the Finance Minister | Term of Office                  | Position                                      |
|------------------------------|---------------------------------|---|
| R.K.Shanmukham Chetty        | 1947-1949                       | 1 <sup>st</sup> Finance Minister of<br>India  |
| John Mathai                  | 1949-1951                       | 2 <sup>nd</sup> Finance Minister of<br>India  |
| Chintamanrao Deshmukh        | 1951-1957                       | 3 <sup>rd</sup> Finance Minister of<br>India  |
| Jawaharlal Nehru             | 1958-1959                       | 4 <sup>th</sup> Finance Minister of<br>India  |
| T.T.Krishnamachari           | 1964-1965, 1957-<br>1958        | 5 <sup>th</sup> Finance Minister of<br>India  |
| Morarji Desai                | 1959-1964, 1967-<br>1970        | 6 <sup>th</sup> Finance Minister of<br>India  |
| Indira Gandhi                | 1970-1971                       | 7 <sup>th</sup> Finance Minister of<br>India  |
| Yashwantrao Chavan           | 1971-1975                       | 8 <sup>th</sup> Finance Minister of<br>India  |
| C.Subramaniam                | 1975-1977                       | 9 <sup>th</sup> Finance Minister of<br>India  |
| H. M. Patel                  | 1977-1979                       | 10 <sup>th</sup> Finance Minister of India    |
| Choudhary Charan Singh       | 1979-1980                       | 11 <sup>th</sup> Finance Minister of<br>India |
| Ramaswamy Venkataraman       | 1980-1982                       | 12 <sup>th</sup> Finance Minister of<br>India |
| V. P. Singh                  | 1985-1987                       | 13 <sup>th</sup> Finance Minister of<br>India |
| Rajiv Gandhi                 | 1987-1988                       | 14 <sup>th</sup> Finance Minister of<br>India |
| N.D.Tiwari                   | 1988-1989                       | 15 <sup>th</sup> Finance Minister of<br>India |
| S.B.Chavan                   | 1989-1990                       | 16 <sup>th</sup> Finance Minister of India    |
| Madhu Dandavate              | 1990-1991                       | 17 <sup>th</sup> Finance Minister of<br>India |
| Yashwant Sinha               | 1991-1992, 1998-<br>2003        | 18 <sup>th</sup> Finance Minister of<br>India |
| Jaswant Singh                | 2003-2005                       | 19 <sup>th</sup> Finance Minister of<br>India |
| Manmohan Singh               | 1991-1997, Dec<br>2008-Jan 2009 | 20 <sup>th</sup> Finance Minister of<br>India |



## Prepared By: www.BankExamsToday.com

| Pranab Mukherjee | 1982-1985, Feb<br>2009-May 2009, May<br>2009-June 2012 | 21 <sup>st</sup> Finance Minister of<br>India |
|------------------|--|---|
| P. Chidambaram   | 1996-1997, May<br>2004-Nov 2009, July<br>2012-Apr 2014 | 22 <sup>nd</sup> Finance Minister of<br>India |
| Arun Jaitley     | May 2014 - Present                                     | 23 <sup>rd</sup> Finance Minister of<br>India |

We are at Facebook Don't forget to LIKE us there for Daily Updates https://www.facebook.com/ibpsprep https://www.facebook.com/bankexamstoday



